Theft crimes in Greater Los Angeles and beyond are very serious allegations. Therefore, you need an experienced criminal defense attorney to help you get the case dismissed or mitigate the penalties you face.
Theft crimes in California vary, with some penalties more serious and harsher than others. Our Los Angeles theft crime attorneys are on hand to help you obtain the best results possible for your case.Common Theft Crimes in California
Grand Theft (PC 487) - In California, you will be charged with grand theft if you take property from another person that is worth more than $950. This includes money, property, labor, a firearm, a car, etc.
The penalty for grand theft in California varies. Depending on the circumstances of your case, it can be charged as a misdemeanor or felony. If it is charged as a misdemeanor, the penalty is 6 months in jail and a fine of $1,000. If it is charged as a felony, the penalty is 16 months, 2 years or 3 years in prison.
If the property you took was worth less that $950, then you will be charged with Petty Theft (PC 484) in California, which is typically charged as a misdemeanor, which carries a penalty of 6 months in jail and a $1,000 fine.
Grand Theft Auto (PC 487 (d)(1)) - Similar to grand theft, In California, grand theft auto is defined as taking or driving a vehicle that belongs to another person, with the intent to permanently deprive the owner of the vehicle.
The penalties for grand theft auto are similar to grand theft. This theft crime can be charged as a misdemeanor or felony, which depends on the facts of your case.
If it is charged as a misdemeanor, the penalty may be 1 year in jail. If it is charged as a felony, the penalty ranges from 16 months, 2 years, or 3 years in prison.
Robbery (PC 211) - This theft offense in California is defined as the taking of personal property, when it is in the possession of another person, by force or fear. Therefore, if you take the personal property of a person, with force or fear and against their will, while they are in possession of it, you may be charged with the theft crime of robbery.
With robbery and other theft crimes, you must intend to permanently keep the property taken away from the owner.
The penalty for robbery in California varies depending on the facts of your case. Robbery can be charged as either 1st degree or 2nd degree robbery. They are both charged as felonies.
If you are convicted of 1st degree robbery, the penalty is 9 years in prison and a fine of $10,000. If you are convicted of 2nd degree robbery, the penalty is 5 years in prison and a fine of $10,000. It is important that if you have been charged with a robbery, call our Robbery Crime attorney today for a consultation.
Burglary (PC 459) - Burglary in California is broken down into two degrees. 1st degree burglary is a felony and requires that a residence is involved. Therefore, you will be charged with 1st degree burglary if you enter a residential structure with the intent to commit a felony (such as robbery or larceny). 2nd degree burglary is similar, but the structure involved is for commercial purposes, other than residential and for habitation.
The penalty for burglary varies, depending on the facts of your case and the degree involved. 1st degree burglary is a felony and carries a penalty of 2, 4 or 6 years in prison. 2nd degree burglary can be charged as a misdemeanor or felony. If charged as a felony, it carries a penalty of 16 months, 2 years or 3 years in prison. If charged as a misdemeanor, it carries a penalty of a maximum of 1 year in jail.
Call (424) 239-9586 or complete our Online Contact Form to set up a free consultation with a Los Angeles Criminal Defense Attorney or seek guidance with any other type of criminal matter.