In California, homicide is defined as the killing of another person. If you are charged with this offense, it is very serious and you will need an experienced homicide defense attorney in California that is committed to defending your rights in the complex criminal justice system. This crime can allow punishment of life in prison. There are various categories of Homicide and the lawyers with Madu Law Group are experienced at defending your rights.Categories of Homicide
Murder in the First and Second Degree (PC 187). The crime of murder in California requires the unlawful killing of a human being or fetus with malice aforethought. In order to be charged with first degree murder, the prosecution must allege that the killing was premeditated.
First Degree murder in California carries a penalty of 25 years to life in prison. Second degree murder, which does not include premeditation when the killing occurred, carries a penalty of 15 years to life in prison
Our experienced Murder Criminal Defense Attorneys in Los Angeles are here to assist you in fighting this very serious crime that can result in loss of your liberty
Felony Murder. This offense applies when a killing occurs in the commission of a felony or an attempted felony, or when a person aids and abets the killing of another, or a major participant in the killing or when the victim was a peace officer engaged in the performance of duties.
Felony murder in California carries a penalty of 25 years to life in state prison, life without the possibility of parole.
Voluntary Manslaughter (PC 192(a)). This offense is the unlawful killing of another human being during a sudden quarrel or heart of passion.
Voluntary Manslaughter in California carries a penalty of 3, 6 or 11 years in prison and is charged as a felony.
Contact an experienced Los Angeles Manslaughter defense Attorney to assist you through the criminal justice system to obtain the best result possible on your case.
Involuntary Manslaughter (PC 192(b)). This offense is described as the unintentional killing of another person, while committing an unlawful act that is not a felony, or in the commission of a lawful act that might result in the death of a person.
Involuntary Manslaughter in California carries a penalty of up to 4 years in jail or prison and a fine of up to $10,000
Contact an experienced Involuntary Manslaughter defense Attorney in Los Angeles to assist you through the criminal justice system to obtain the best result possible on your case.
Vehicular Manslaughter (PC 129(c)). In California, Vehicular Manslaughter is charged when a person drives a vehicle in a negligent manner and thereby causes the death of another person.
This offence is a wobbler, and can be charged as a felony or misdemeanor, depending on the facts of your case. If you acted with gross negligence while driving a vehicle that caused the death of a person, you may be charged with a felony or misdemeanor. On the other hand, if you drove the vehicle with ordinary negligence and caused the death of another person, you would be charged with a misdemeanor.
The penalty for Vehicular Manslaughter in California, if charged as a misdemeanor, carries the maximum sentence of 1 year in jail. If the offense is charged as a felony, it carries a penalty of 1 year in jail and a maximum of 6 years in prison.
Call (424) 239-9586 or complete our Online Contact Form to set up a free consultation with a Homicide Criminal Defense Attorney in Los Angeles or seek guidance with any other type of criminal matter.