If you are charged with driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol in California, you face very serious consequences. In order to protect your driving privileges and your liberty, contact our Orange County DUI attorney today to help you get the best results possible for your case.
Our experienced DUI lawyer in California is experienced in handling all DUI charges, whether you are charged with a first DUI or a second or third DUI, we are here to help you navigate the complicated criminal justice system to obtain the best results possible for your case.DUI Law in California
In California, under the Vehicle Code, if you drive with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of .08 or higher, and you are pulled over by a police officer, whether at a traffic stop or check point, it is considered illegal and you will be charged and convicted of a DUI. However, the BAC legal limit in California varies depending on the facts surrounding your case:
- Commercial Drivers cannot drive with a BAC of .04 or higher
- Drivers under 21 cannot drive with a BAC of .01
- Divers under 18 cannot drive with any measure of BAC
- If you are convicted of a DUI in the past, you cannot drive with a BAC of .01 or higher
Depending on the facts of your case, you may be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony.
First DUI- If you are convicted of a DUI for the first time, the penalties range from probation, jail time of up to 6 months, suspension of your driver’s license for 6 months, community service, DUI/alcohol education classes, and fines up to $1,000. Also, an ignition interlock device (IID) may be required.
An IID is a device that you must blow into before you can start and drive your vehicle. If your BAC is below the required limit, your car will start. If is it not below the BAC, your car will not start.
License Suspension- Within 10 days after your arrest, you must contact the DMV to request a hearing in order to maintain your license. If you do not, you lose your license to a suspension after 30 days. Therefore, it is important to contact an experienced California DUI lawyer to help you maintain your rights, including your driving privileges. We are here to help.
Second DUI- If, after the first DUI conviction, you are convicted of a second DUI offense in California, the penalties range from 3 months to 1 year in jail, and a fine of up to $1,000. You license could be suspended for 2 years; you may be required to complete DUI/alcohol education classes and an ignition interlock may be required.
Third DUI- If you are convicted of a third DUI in California, the penalties range from 4 months to 1 year in jail, fines up to $1,000, your license could be suspended for 3 years, DUI/alcohol education classes may be required and an ignition interlock may also be required.
Call (424) 239-9586 or complete our Online Contact Form to set up a free consultation with an Orange County DUI Attorney or seek guidance with any other type of criminal matter.